Skip to Main Content

Staff and Advisory Board

Director

Christine Mallinson
mallinson@umbc.edu
PUP 427, 410-455-1082

Christine Mallinson is Director of the Center for Social Science Scholarship, Professor of Language, Literacy, and Culture, and Affiliate Professor of Gender, Women’s + Sexuality Studies at UMBC. An expert on language and educational inequality, her interdisciplinary and collaborative research comprehensively examines language as a socially and culturally embedded phenomenon and seeks to dismantle notions about cultural and linguistic difference, in ways that empower communities while informing policy. Past associate editor of the journal American Speech, Mallinson currently serves the chair of the Ethics committee of the Linguistic Society of America and a member of its Committee on Ethnic Diversity in Linguistics. She holds a Ph.D. in Sociology & Anthropology and an M.A. in English Linguistics, both from North Carolina State University, and a B.A. in Sociology and German from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Coordinator

Heather R. Wilpone-Welborn
welborn@umbc.edu
PUP 428, 410-455-1857

Heather R. Wilpone-Welborn received her PhD in American History from the University of Illinois at Chicago in 2018. She received her M.A. in Social Science from the University of Chicago and her B.A. in History from the University of Virginia with high distinction. Her dissertation, “Revenue Revealed: A Race and Class Analysis of Federal Taxation 1861-1877,” examined the American fiscal-state through Congressional debates to uncover how enslaved persons were treated within the tax code, how the nation implemented the first income tax, and how elites used taxation to avoid conscription. Her work builds on the field of the history of capitalism to think through how fiscal systems allow the state to interact with the perceived private operations of the economy. Her article, “Finding Labor History in the History in the Capitalism” was recently published in Labor: Studies in Working-Class History of the Americas (Duke, 2017). She is also a faculty member of the Liberal Arts Core at the Peabody Institute of The Johns Hopkins University where she teaches on the History of Capitalism & the Arts.

MIPAR Staff

Deborah Geare
Assistant Director
geare@umbc.edu

Carolyn Flowers
Business Manager
cflowers@umbc.edu

Elle Trusz
Business Specialist
elle@umbc.edu

Jesse Mashbaum
Business Specialist
mashbaum@umbc.edu

Muriel Averilla-Chin
Business Specialist
machin@umbc.edu

Michele Bange
Administrative Assistant
mbange@umbc.edu

Emma Wheatley
CS3/MIPAR Student Intern
emma9@umbc.edu

External Relations

Myriam Alexander-Kearns
myriam@umbc.edu
PUP 404, 410-455-8457

Advisory Board

Danielle L. Beatty Moody, Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology

Pamela R. Bennett, Associate Professor, School of Public Policy

Bambi Chapin, Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Health Administration and Policy

Felipe Filomeno, Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science and Global Studies

David Lansing, Associate Professor, Department of Geography & Environmental Systems

Sarah Shin, Professor, Department of Education

Chunming Yuan, Associate Professor, Department of Economics